Home > Uncategorized > Running Battlefield 2 on Windows 7

Running Battlefield 2 on Windows 7

Updated: Shorter Steps posted

Battlefield 2 was one such slick game that came out in 2004/2005 with the popularity of LAN/online FPS with vehicle combat.  What made Battlefield 2 such a slick game (even with its compatibility issues with Windows) was the flexibility of playing a modern warfare game with tanks, planes, soldiers and helicopters. Sadly though, no direct sequels were made (maybe except for the upcoming Battlefield: Bad Company 2).

Here are the steps I’ve done after reading through the various forum sites, blogs  around the internet. This works well enough for gaming. My configuration is the original Battlefield 2 game (on CD, as DVDs weren’t popular yet… four years ago!). I’ve updated it to version 1.41 as I’ve installed a Battlefield 2 Single Player 64 mod as latency was quite an issue when I started playing it back then. The following steps assume that I’ve installed BF2 and applied the patch.

1.  Update the Punk Buster Client for Battlefield 2 http://websec.evenbalance.com/downloader/download.php?file=1

punkb punkb-2

Add the Battlefield 2 game (it should also populate the default game path in C:Program Files). Then click on the Check for Updates button on top to download the latest patch for Battlefield 2.

2. Once Punkbuster client has been updated. It’s time to do some compatibility tweaking.

compat

On Windows 7, Run it as a compatible application to Windows XP SP2 or SP3 (I haven’t completely tried leaving it out as default for Windows 7).

3. Try running the game on the first instance. It should load and give you a very,very low resolution game screen. Since 800×600 is quite blurry for my eyes, I can opt to increase the resolution to 1280×1024 at least. Come on, I’ve had at least 6 video cards spanning roughly 5 generations of NVIDIA video cards, my cards could handle that much easily.

However, subsequent runs would usually either kick me out unexpectedly. Originally, it would just be the old punkbuster being old and incompatible to Windows 7 and prohibits us from playing mods to the game, but this time, there’s a bug (unaddressed by Dice) wherein the refresh rate causes the game to crash. I’ve set the 1280×1024 resolution and everything on high with the screen refresh @ 75Hz. The issue is that Battlefield 2 was developed when screen refresh rates ran normally on 60Hz.

video_conf

Open the video config file in our BF2 Profiles in our Documents folder. We should manually set the resolution to 1024×768@60Hz and then save the video config file as read only to avoid writing over the new settings.

And that’s it, we can now play the game consistently even with modifications installed.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. me
    October 13, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Well when i try it it looks like its gonna open then never does.

    • WKDblue
      May 27, 2011 at 4:41 pm

      Same thing for me 😦

      • uzairdjmh
        July 30, 2012 at 9:24 pm

        why dont game producer solve these type of problem… because they cant… they only know how to make game.. they dont know how to solve problems. thats why i dont see even 1 post from game producer or supporters.. nothing gonna work on this crap.

      • September 26, 2012 at 7:02 am

        As of the latest update by Dice, Patch 1.5 fixes all of the problems earlier encountered when BF2 is installed on Windows 7.

  2. sraktus
    March 5, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    still doesnt working,crashes on desktop after 5 sedonds

  3. Magathery
    August 23, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    Thanks for the info. Managed to see the starting video as a result of editing the “video” file to change the refresh rate to “60” and turn off anti-aliasing. Just a slight problem with my profile as the game crashes to desktop when it attempts to contact the EA server. But big thank you as I’ve got allot further than I have before.

  4. September 13, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    you know what, as battlefield 3’s around the corner, I would advise just getting that instead. I’ve heard that the classic Battlefield 2 maps would be available. It’s roughly around 6 years since this one came out and probably less headaches with the machines and operating systems running.

  5. chizzahug
    January 23, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    thanks man works for me

  6. Hem Shailabh Sahu
    February 8, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    I have downloaded the game from the internet and got the serial key from it and installed the game.. now when I double click the shortcut (with compatibility and PB setting /updates applied)… a small black screen pops up and the game closes without any display… Help

  7. Hem Shailabh Sahu
    February 8, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    The refresh rate of my monitor is 59 Hz i.e. less than the requirements …will this affect the game ?

    • Dzimi
      June 20, 2012 at 2:30 am

      U have to run game from instalation path (for example C or D)
      Not from shortcut on desktop ;D

  8. muhanad
    June 8, 2012 at 5:31 am

    i did update the Punk Buster after i download it from the web site up ahead and choose the game Battlefield 2 and it work thanks man for your advise

  9. Dzimi
    June 20, 2012 at 2:30 am

    Hem Shailabh Sahu :
    The refresh rate of my monitor is 59 Hz i.e. less than the requirements …will this affect the game ?

    U have to run game from instalation path (for example C or D)
    Not from shortcut on desktop ;D

  10. Charles
    August 9, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Which patch exactlyis meant to be installed?

  11. okorie
    October 2, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    Damn I’m pretty annoyed, when I had windows XP the average FPS was 100 , since I installed windows 7 64 bit, it has dropped to 40 or less (it goes down to 16 every once in a while). I’m pretty much sure it is not a hardware issue since I have Prescott X4 , 8 gig RAM and rad5770. If I can’t find a solution I will reinstall windows xp for sure, since BF2 and its mods are my favorite game.Damn it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment